A taste

I once was loved
By a man
Whose heart was ever so grand
With an embrace
Softer than cashmere wool
And kisses
Sweeter than cotton candy

I once was loved
By a man
Whose heart was ever so grand
Never filled up
Room for one hundred and one
And some more

I once was loved
By a man
Whose heart was ever so grand
Until one day
A fool stepped all over it
And his embrace
Hardened as diamond splinters
And his kisses
Turned bitter

I once was loved
By a man
And I didn’t know
Until miscalculating
I loved him back.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “A taste

  1. aramsey_poet says:

    Wow! You blew me away with that last verse. Here ’twas you. Alas for it is too late, after all, what’s harder than diamond. Not being loved back. Great poem!

Leave a Reply

