A duality

He told me he saw both romanticism and realism in me, a rare polarity that needed to be discovered.
“Study acting!”
“Excuse me?” What the hell was he talking about?
“Here, there are only three good acting schools in Paris,” he continued, naming all of them. I looked at him, trying to memorize the names of the schools. With my perplexed expression I somehow couldn’t help but believe him.
“You will make a great actor. You’ve just got to find that inner person inside of you. You’ll have to take classes, of course, but then you’ll go to castings and get small roles, then bigger ones.”
“What the hell was this stranger talking to me about?” I thought for the hundredth time in ten minutes. I smiled, unknowing of what to say next.
“You’re a woman but you’re an adolescent at the same time. You’ve come to Paris to find that inner self, to find yourself. No one else. Do away with all those other shallow friends. Follow your heart. You know what’s best for you, and it’s right here in front of you. Right in this city, mademoiselle,” he said in the politest way.

And here I am, at home, googling, debating. To trust a stranger or not? It will go down as one of the oddest yet most inspiring conversations I’ve ever had in my life so far. I think I’m going to have to let this sink in for a while.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “A duality

  1. Andy says:

    “Follow your heart”- I believe I told you the same thing recently 🙂 Your Parisian friend and I are working in cahoots with each other.
    Not read any prose by you for a while, enjoyed it.

    • Yes, in fact that phrase has been lingering about my being for some time now. I feel as if I’m getting closer and closer though to actually following my heart, and gut, which to me is often the same thing. It was one of the most bizarre conversations I’ve ever had though.

      • Andy says:

        I always act on instinct. You can counsel people’s opinions, but then go with what feels right. Random conversations and encounters can be great. Inspiring, amusing, rarely dull. Oh-and if you ever make a film, let me know. Sort out a ticket, and I’ll fly over for the European premiere. Will I need to wear a tie?

      • I agree! I have this internal decision process but then I ask my surrounding’s opinion, although I’ve already made up my mind. Works quite well.
        Of course you are invited! You can wear whatever your heart pleases. There are no restrictions 🙂

      • Andy says:

        Then I shall act on instinct. I hope there is a red carpet. My gut is telling me not to go for the heels 🙂 This time.

      • If that moment ever arrives, would you like to walk the red carpet? You can wear heels, I really wouldn’t mind. 😛

      • Andy says:

        Oh I would walk it. I’ve always suspected that I have royal blood. But ?I think heels would be a recipe for disaster. I can see me going right over in them after being dazzled by the paparazzi. I would presume they were taking shots of you, but I think I would have ruined my big opportunity.

      • You might have a valid point about the heels. Let’s keep those for your talkshow debut instead. We’ll find you a high heel expert to practice with before hand 🙂

      • Andy says:

        I bet they exist as well-high heel experts! Imagine putting that on your wedding certificate 🙂
        If you should make the Oscars, I just know as your favourite follower I will get an invite too. I know it will be your big night, but could you help to keep tabs on me, I fear I will be intimidated and out of my depth. You would probably find me at the bar all flustered, saying “I’m sorry Miss Aniston, but I’m a married man.”

      • Of course dear! A loyal follower needs to have his moment of shining as well. Consider it done!
        Now, how the hell am I going to make it to the Oscars?!

      • Andy says:

        Step One:What were the names of those acting schools your random friend mentioned….. ?

      • Ah, yes, I remembered one and I’ve checked it out. It seems that a summer camp would be something I could try. Awfully exciting!

      • Andy says:

        Then we have a plan:1 Enrol in Summer Camp. 2.Win an Oscar. Easy. I await your invitation 🙂

      • Deal! Glad we could solve this issue quite rapidly on a Saturday night 🙂

      • Andy says:

        Amazing what we can do when we put our heads together. Next up:World Peace. But let’s leave it until tomorrow. We’ll sleep on it.

      • Good idea. Meeting adjourned. À demain!

      • Andy says:

        Bonne nuit 🙂

  2. words4jp says:

    As you know, my son Jordan is going to be a famous movie producer someday….send me some head shots and I will forward them to his ‘future’ file:)

Leave a Reply

