A smile

I look at you. At your life. Your smile. I know you’re happy. You’re probably going to have kids real soon. I ask myself, would I have wanted to be there with you? Though I may seem envious my response contains no notion of the such. Honestly, I wouldn’t want to be by your side. Because then your smile wouldn’t have been genuine, your grin would have been different, and there wouldn’t be a single thought of children. I know you’ve wanted to become a father all of your life. I’m glad someone’s going to give you that gift. I’m glad someone else can make you laugh. I’m glad you’ve found a place you can call home. But most of all, I’m glad I’m no longer part of your life because had I still been, I don’t think I’d ever get the chance to see you smile real big and be so full of happiness as you are today.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

