A life without

I have conversations in my head
Go through the details of what’s been said
Each fragment analyzed
I’m being penalized

I pick your thoughts
Each and every part
Go through the action
Interpret, replace, sanction

I assume what has been felt
Long before a card has been dealt
Plan my feelings accordingly
To avoid destroying the extraordinary

I blame myself for letting go
For cutting the rope
But my head couldn’t think
I was drowning, no longer in synch

I hope you can forgive
To continue on, to live
A life without me
I promise it’s for the best, my darling.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “A life without

  1. andy1076 says:

    To hold on, is to stay behind in the wake of what is left, yet to let go is to free yourself to start again.

  2. Andy says:

    You can let go and start again, you can journey to the ends of the earth on new paths and highways, but if you don’t exorcize and deal with that voice in your head you are forever chained and anchored to that static place of origin. I think πŸ™‚ But I don’t speak from experience πŸ™‚

    • I see your point Andy. I think speaking and dealing with the voice in your head is part of the letting go process. If it’s still there when starting over then you haven’t really dealt with the problem fully, causing you to repeat the same mistakes you have made before. It’s ver complicated though, breaking old habits and addressing what is truly wrong. Sometimes a new start can ease off the inner voice, that’s what I’ve experienced πŸ™‚

      • Andy says:

        Yes it helps to cut ties. And we take with us who we are-our experiences, our hopes, our dreams, our regrets. But we can build on them, I hope. Everything plays out in our inner landscape. I know I don’t know your circumstances, but I get the feeling that your writing helps. You shed a few ghosts in composition.

      • Exactly! I like the idea of shedding ghosts, cleverly put πŸ™‚

  3. Andy says:

    You inspired another post-not a poem this time. Just about that inner landscape we spoke of, the things we take us. In a time focused sort of way πŸ™‚

  4. Andy says:

    * we take with us.

    I really should type slower πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

