I am not your safety

He tells me to come home
To where I belong
To where I’m safe
Protected from fear and dismay
Huddled with warmth
Comforted by our house

But our house is not a home
It is not ours, it is his
It is not where I belong
Without me he is lost
Without me he is incomplete
Yet his presence brings chills to my very being

To turn me into something I am not
He almost succeeded
To believe I was safe and loved
He almost had me
No, his house is not my home
For his presence I have outgrown.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I am not your safety

  1. words4jp says:

    very thought provoking piece – i can relate to this is many ways. xx

Leave a Reply

